A couple of weeks ago I did an author visit to a local school. I had the pleasure of meeting several young people during their lunch break who came with questions ranging from my favourite books to what inspires my stories. It was a joy to give away a book to the student who had written about “doing the right thing rather than the good thing” – the idea for The Compassion Prize. I read through lots of entries discussing ideas of putting others needs high in the agenda before thinking of yourself. They were really very well thought out. The winner had chosen to write about the consequences of not doing the right thing.

Of course there was opportunity to buy my books after the Q&A and several young people walked away with signed copies. I met a young man who had been at the author event on my previous visit and had read The Compassion Prize a few times. It was such an encouragement to hear him tell me that he couldn’t wait to find out what happens next. I hope he enjoys it!

Author visit

 

