When I write, I have to create a sense of scale in characters and environments. Sometimes approaching the subject head on gives too much away, so changing how the reader sees, influences how the story is told. It can create drama and misunderstanding, allowing me, as an author, to reveal the story with an element of surprise.

I have been looking at creating scale with photos. This is often achieved by viewpoint.

IMG_2167
Autumn #seasonofrest #seehimineverything #didimentioniloveautumn

 

IMG_0186
Grass #benjamintitles

 

IMG_0167
Very rarely go to the beach even though I live so close, but I’m always glad when I do.

 

IMG_1542
Mushroom #closeup

 

IMG_1158
Tower #benjamintitles

 

Brighton in the rain. #brighton #brightonwheel #rainyday #reflection
Brighton in the rain. #brighton #brightonwheel #rainyday #reflection

 

Why don’t you have a go at looking at things from a different angle …

(All photographs are the property of Katy Hollway and cannot be used without permission. Thanks!)

If you wish you can purchase some of my images here.

