Raindrops #closeup #abstract #blackandwhite #water #droplets #seehimineverything
Raindrops #closeup #abstract #blackandwhite #water #droplets #seehimineverything

I spent many hours in a dark room processing black and white prints when I was studying photography at college. By stripping away the colour from an image you have to consider texture, form, pattern and other qualities to produce a strong composition.

Now, of course, digital cameras can show us what our shots look like in black and white in an instant. Often, I can use colour to enhance a shot or rely on it to give the image life but recently I have played with black and white again. I have remembered that taking photos is intentional and that I need to consider the image more before I snap away.

I have uploaded a few black and white shots to my instagram profile. https://instagram.com/katyhollway/ The images I have converted into, or considered to be best captured in black and white are architectural, structural and they have a sense of abstraction.

IMG_1244
London reflections. Good building design that brings the reflection of the sky into the street.
IMG_0723
Rijks Museum architecture
Brighton in the rain. #brighton #brightonwheel #rainyday #reflection
Brighton in the rain. #brighton #brightonwheel #rainyday #reflection
IMG_1832
Circular Abstract by renowned artist The Spider
Seeds #benjamintitles #nature #closeup #abstract
Seeds #benjamintitles #nature #closeup #abstract
IMG_1945
Wax splash #abstract #macro #blackandwhite
IMG_1980
Rainy window #blackandwhite #abstract #closeup

I would love to hear your thoughts. Perhaps you could have a go at creating some black and white images.

(All images are owned by Katy Hollway and cannot be used without permission.)

If you wish you can purchase some of my images here.

