They say that aroma of baking bread and freshly brewed coffee can sell houses.  I love the smell of bread baking!  It is because of this (and the fact that packaged bread makes me feel ill) that I own a breadmaker.   The wafts of a delicious home made loaf make the whole house welcoming.

Recently, however, I have had a few problems with my loaf!  My trusty breadmaker died and a new one purchased, but the bread just wasn’t the same so I altered the ingredients a little.  I tried the recipes found in their instruction book and they were too heavy.  I tried to look online for recommended recipes, but they were too sweet.  My old recipe was just right, but what had happened?

After several failed attempts at a lovely soft white loaf, I was sunk – I bit like my bread.

So I revisited my original recipe once more.  I bought fresh ingredients and a different make of flour.  I put them all in the breadmaker and waited.  Almost three hours later, the loaf was a sight for sore eyes!  Just right again.

I find it strange that just a change in the make of flour could cause such a dramatic difference.

It is funny how little things we experience can help us see routes out of other problems.

I am currently working on my second book hopefully being published this time next year.  But recently I have found that working on it has not been as easy as it should.  There have been so many other things drawing my attention away, things that need doing or I feel under pressure to finish.  My Tuesdays had been hijacked and my book felt sunken and heavy!  It was time to go back to my old recipe in writing but just tweek the flour a little.  I gave a rough draft to a friend to have a look at, and that was all the flour I needed.  He has bought inspiration and asked so many questions that there is freshness in my story once again.

They say that writing is a solitary thing, and I guess for the sitting down to write part that is true.  But I would say that if it remains solitary, it comes out a heavy loaf.  A different batch of flour in the shape of good chin wag with a friend discussing plot, character and hidden meanings can produce something very tasty indeed.  So to anyone out there thinking of writing (and I know there are quite a few), trust someone with your ideas, let them be critical and get creative because you might just end up with a perfect loaf!

The sweet smell of perfume and oils is pleasant,
and so is good advice from a friend.

Proverbs 27:9 (NCV)

p.s.

For those wanting to have a go at my 1 1/2lb soft loaf … add ingredients as follows:

1 tbsp Sugar

1 1/2 tbsp Milk powder

1/2 tsp Salt

3 cups Strong White Flour

1 1/2 tsp Fast acting yeast (mix into the flour a little)

2 tbsp Sunflower oil

1 1/8 cup Cold water

Set on your basic loaf setting.

